Cyprus through the Eyes of Russian Artists


On June 23-28, 2011 the Cultural Center of Cyprus Panos Solomonidis (Limassol) held the exhibition of works of St Petersburg artists. The exhibition was held within the frames of project of Viacheslav Zarenkov “World through the Eyes of Russian Artists. Cyprus”, designed as a cultural exchange between two orthodox states: Russia and the Republic of Cyprus. The exhibition presented works of St Petersburg artists Andrey Bazanov, Alexander Grishin, Dmitry Egupov, Julia Zarenkova and Victor Yamshchikov.

Exhibition holding was preceded by intensive work performed by artists from the Northern Capital in May, 2011 during the Days of St Petersburg in Limassol dedicated to relations development between two cities. Exhibition of works of St Petersburg artists was opened with the presentation attended by the Mayor of Limassol Andreas Christou, Petros Petrou, Vasos Argyridis, representatives of business community, scientific, educational and cultural institutions.

Performance of the Chamber Choir of the Smolny Cathedral and the instrumental quartet of Limassol became the official part of the program. Several thousand people visited the exhibition hall during a week. Upon exhibition completion all five pictures were donated by their authors to the Historical Museum of Limassol placed in the medieval castle.

Кипр глазами русских художников


С 23 по 28 июня 2011 года в культурном центре Кипра «Панос Соломонидис» (г. Лимассол) прошла выставка работ петербургских живописцев. Выставка состоялась в рамках проекта Вячеслава Заренкова «Мир глазами русских художников. Кипр», задуманного как культурный обмен между двумя православными государствами – Россией и Республикой Кипр. На выставке были представлены работы петербургских художников Андрея Базанова, Александра Гришина, Дмитрия Егупова, Юлии Заренковой и Виктора Ямщикова.

Проведению выставки предшествовала интенсивная работа, которая была проведена живописцами из Северной столицы в мае 2011 года в Дни Санкт-Петербурга в Лимассоле, посвященные развитию связей между двумя городами. Выставка работ петербургских художников открылась презентацией, на которой присутствовал мэр Лимассола Андреас Христу (Andreas Christou), Петрос Петру (Petros Petrou), Васос Аргиридис (Vasos Argyridis), представители деловых кругов, учреждений науки, образования и культуры.

Торжественной частью программы мероприятия стало выступление Камерного хора Смольного собора и инструментального квартета Лимассола. За неделю выставочный зал посетили несколько тысяч человек. По окончании работы выставки все пятьдесят восемь картин были переданы их создателями в дар Историческому музею Лимассола, расположенному в средневековом замке.